Smokin’ on a Sunday – Salsa Picante

I admit it, I love spicy food. But I’ve grown bored with pico de gallo. Last year I added a smoker to my outdoor kitchen and so I’ve started making smoked salsa. Since my main dish rarely fills the smoker, I started filling the racks with different vegetables just to see how they would turn out. Smoked jalapeños were an immediate hit. They add a superb flavor to so many dishes, but take it a step further and go for smoked salsa. If you don’t have a smoker you can probably accomplish the same thing on a grill. Just keep the temperature low and use whatever method your grill manufacturer suggests for smoking.

Smoked Salsa
15-20 tomatoes, halved
10-15 jalapeños, sit cut in the end but stem left intact
1 large onion, thickly sliced
1 bunch cilantro
2-4 Tbs jalapeño vinegar
3-4 garlic cloves minced
black pepper, freshly ground

Line your smoker racks with foil. Place the halved tomatoes cut side up on the racks and hit each one with some freshly ground black pepper. Put a slit in each jalapeño without disturbing the stem. Place them on a rack with the thickly sliced onion.

Smoke them over mesquite or hickory chips, or a combination of the two, until the vegetables are soft. It took just over an hour for mine to get perfectly done, but it can vary. Removem the from the smoker and let them cool. Once everything is cool enough to handle you’ll have to decide between chopping by hand or a food processor. I used the food processor for this batch. First I pulsed the tomatoes until I had a chunky consistency. I poured the chopped tomatoes into a bowl. Then I added the remaining ingredients to the food processor and again, pulsed until I liked the consistency. Then I added the jalapeño mixture to the bowl and stirred.

Salsa does not have to be an exact science. In other words, adjust the recipe to fit your taste, if you don’t like cilantro cut back or omit it. Oh, you probably noticed my recipe doesn’t call for salt. I rarely use salt when I cook. If you do, add some to the tomatoes when you process or chop them. If you’re not confident heading into the this then hold back some of each ingredient. That way if your salsa turns out too hot to enjoy you’ll have a few tomatoes left to tone it down a bit. If it turns out too mild, you’ll have more jalapeños to add.

The salsa will keep in the refrigerator for a while, and it freezes well. Use it like you would any other salsa: chips, nachos, burritos, quesadilla, marinades, eggs, etc. etc.

Release YOUR Bon Vivant and Savor Your Life!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Smokin’ on a Sunday – Salsa Picante

Leave a Reply

