Stuffed with Comfort

Black rice stuffed sweet potato with chipotle goat cheese, and a side of steamed kale.

stuffed-sweet_8050

Baked potatoes are comfort food. I grew up eating them ‘loaded’ as they say, absolute cholesterol bombs with no redeeming qualities. Sometimes I still long to dive into a fluffy hot potato that has been piled high with comfort. So here’s a healthier swap.

I started by baking a sweet potato rather than a traditional russet. When it was done I filled it with a few spoonfuls of heavenly, chewy, black rice that I had cooked with herbs. Then I topped it with chipotle crusted goat cheese. I put it under the broiler just long enough to warm the cheese, and sprinkled it with freshly chopped cilantro. I served it with a side of steamed kale, I added some rosemary black pepper infused vinegar to the steaming water to make it more flavorful. A true comfort meal.

What stuffs your potato?

Until next time… Release YOUR Bon Vivant and Savor Your Life!

Leave a Reply

