Hit the Trail

trailmix_7809

Have you ever wished your trail mix had almonds instead of peanuts, or apricots instead of raisins? Try making your own to get your trail mix just how you want it. To speed things up, start with a granola that is packaged for breakfast.

For this week’s mix I used a scoop of cherry vanilla granola and a scoop of honey raisin granola.

In a large mixing bowl I combined the granola, cashews, semi-sweet chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, walnuts, shredded coconut, a few chopped prunes, and a few chopped dried apricots. Stir it up and package it in single serving bags or jars.

My trail mix is never exactly the same! I like to alternate what I add, some of my favorites are dried pineapple, dried papaya, almonds, pecans, sunflower seeds, and dried apples. I also like to use yogurt covered raisins when I want to make a really sweet mix. In a pinch you can even pour milk over a small bowl of the trail mix and call it cereal. I also like to sprinkle it on a hot bowl of cream of wheat!

What’s in your trail mix?

Until next time… Release YOUR Bon Vivant and Savor Your Life!

Leave a Reply

