Tandoori Shoulder Roast

lamb-roast_6204

Last week I made a visit to the University of Arizona meat lab. This is such a wonderful experience; each time talking to the students who are working as ranchers, and food providers. They know so much about what they produce and their enthusiasm is catching. They are by no means mass producers and while they always have grass feed ground beef they don’t always have the exact cut you desire. But this time I got lucky, they had a lamb shoulder roast!

About 4 hours before I wanted to grill the roast I combined 2 Tbsps lemon juice, 2 Tbsps olive oil, 2 Tbsps tarragon basil vinegar, and 3-4 Tbsps tandoori spice mix. I put the roast in a zip top bag and poured the mixture over it, turning it to evenly coat it. As it marinated I turned it a few times.

Now if you have to use a purchased tandoori mix OK, but I prefer to make my own. I like to balance the ginger, turmeric, and cardamom. My recipe for tandoori spice mix is in The Tasteful Muse, Volume Two.

I grilled the 3 pound roast over indirect medium-low heat for about an hour and a half. A thermometer is the best way to check a roast for doneness. Mine was 150 degrees (in the center, next to the bone) when I pulled it off of the grill. Remember, a roast will continue to cook for a few minutes after it’s pulled from the grill.

This lamb roast was served with a cucumber raita – chopped cucumber mixed with plain yogurt, black pepper, and chopped mint. The leftovers will make an excellent stew!

Until next time… Release YOUR Bon Vivant and Savor Your Life!

Leave a Reply

