It Might Not Cure the Common Cold But….

chickensoup_6149

When you’re under the weather it sure does help! For me, chicken soup is often about what I have on hand at the time. This time I had some sweet potatoes and mushrooms lingering in the produce bin.

First I cooked a chicken by placing it in a large pot with whole carrots, a few celery ribs, a quartered onion, and several garlic cloves. These vegetables are used to season the broth, since they’ll be discarded there is no need to chop them into bite size pieces.

Once the chicken was done I removed it and the vegetables from the broth. I took most of the broth out of the pan, I’ll add it back just what I need.

chickensoup_6147

Once the chicken cooled I deboned it. Into bite size pieces I chopped a few carrots, a sweet potato, a few mushrooms, an onion, a celery rib, and a few mild jalapeños. Then I finely chopped some fresh tarragon and basil. I added the vegetables, herbs and some of the chicken back to the pot. Just enough of the broth to cover everything was added back to the pot. If you want to make chicken noodle or chicken rice soup this would be the time to add the noodles or rice. If you do, monitor your liquid closely as they both absorb liquid and you may need to add more.

I froze the chicken breasts and the remaining broth to use later. A soup made of left overs, that creates ingredients to use in other dishes, what could be better.

I covered the pot and let it simmer until the vegetables were tender but not mushy. Simple, delicious, and regardless of what modern science says… it IS the cure for the common cold!

Until next time… Release YOUR Bon Vivant and Savor Your Life!

Leave a Reply

