Fried Egg Sandwiches and Old Friends

friedeggsandwich_6134

The Bon Vivants that have already received their copy of The Tasteful Muse, Volume Two have read about my friend Alan (dedication final page). Alan R. Kingsley and I met thirty years ago, we never cooked together – because ramen on a hot plate in a dorm room is NOT cooking. But now we are both seasoned chefs, we’ve both spent many years behind the stove, and we both love food. And yes, we are a bit competitive; we text and email pictures and descriptions of what we are eating. Sometimes it’s down right painful!
friedeggsandwich_6137

So last weekend Alan sends me a text “fried egg sandwich on sourdough with black forest ham and sharp Tillamook cheddar”. I haven’t been able to get it off of my mind. Who doesn’t love a good fried egg sandwich?
friedeggsandwich_6138

A fried egg sandwich isn’t meant to be a planned, it’s a concoction of what you already have. I finally satisfied my craving with a double-decker fried egg sandwich on pumpernickel bread with prosciutto, smoked mozzarella, sharp cheddar, AND black pepper mustard! I want to say I won but I think we are actually tied on this one. I mean sourdough and Tillamook sharp cheddar…. yes, that is a match to prosciutto and black pepper mustard.

What do you put on your fried egg sandwiches?

Until next time… Release YOUR Bon Vivant and Savor Your Life!

Leave a Reply

