Sometimes They Slide Right Out of the Pan

Omelets… sometimes they just don’t cooperate and end up being scrambled eggs. But recently I figured out a way to consistently get the results I want.

omelet_5647

For me the failure is often in the flipping, I’ve stopped flipping! I beat 3 eggs and poured them into a warm, non-stick pan, that had been sprayed with non-stick spray. I used a large pan so the eggs were thinly spread. You want your eggs evenly spread in the pan so tilt it if needed to achieve this.

You need to keep the heat low enough that the eggs are cooking without excessively browning. Let the eggs cook on medium low until they are set (no longer liquid) all across the top. Layer your (cooked) ingredients on one side – today I chose sliced prosciutto and steamed asparagus. Then use a rubber spatula to lift the edge of the eggs, all the way around to the pan. You’re about to fold and you want to make sure there isn’t any stuck portion. Also, the rubber spatula is less likely to rip the eggs than a traditional flipping spatula.

Gently left the side of the omelet that does not have the stuffing over the top of the stuffing. Proceed carefully but try to work quickly, the momentum is important. Once you’ve got it folded, top it with something attractive and tasty. I opted for goat cheese, chives, and smoked paprika. That’s it! No more omelets that end up scrambled for me!

In the background there you can see another breakfast favorite of mine. Rather than serving my toast with jam I like to serve it with soft berries (raspberries, blackberries, etc.) that have been lightly drizzled with honey. Smear these on dry toast and enjoy!

Until next time… Release YOUR Bon Vivant and Savor Your Life!

Leave a Reply

