Beans Again?

Yes, but today’s beans are a combination of summer celebration and vegetarian chili.

black-beans_5398

I love black beans, they produce such a nice thick broth. But I didn’t want just beans, I wanted to savor some summer vegetables too. Not in the mood for salad, I decided on a pot of beans heavily laden with summer vegetables.

As a Bon Vivant I’m sure you don’t need instructions on cooking a pot of beans. But I challenge you to leave your comfort zone and put a different spin on them. After mine were mostly tender I added several chopped tomatoes, jalapeños, and yellow crookneck squash. For the seasoning I used a spice mix similar to that of chili con carne but I added smoked paprika. I let this continue to simmer until the beans were breaking and the vegetables were soft.

I was surprised at how well it turned out, and how well it was received. I’ve never added summer squash to beans but it was great. It added a juicy texture that was different than the texture of the beans.

What will you do with beans this week?

Until next time… Release YOUR Bon Vivant and Savor Your Life!

 

Leave a Reply

