The Ugliest Thing I’ve Ever Made…

… but they taste great!

protein-balls_5414

On long bike rides or hikes I like to have a quick, high energy snack with me. Lately the commonly available ‘protein’ type bars are tasting mediocre at best. I wanted to try making my own version, here’s what I ended up with on my first attempt.

The solution – Almond Butter Matcha Balls

In a food processor pulse chop about 10 dates.
Add:
A scoop of protein powder, I used a (sweetened) chocolate flavor. If you don’t have protein powder, try using instant pudding mix as a replacement. The flavor is entirely up to you.
3 tablespoons of almond or peanut butter
1 tablespoon of flax meal (I think you could substitute oatmeal)
1 tablespoon of almond milk (any milk other than diary)
1 tablespoon of matcha powder

Process the mixture until everything is even Incorporated. Roll the mixture into little balls or press it in to a plastic wrap lined pan. If you shape it into balls consider rolling them in more matcha flavor to increase the green tea flavor. If you press it into a pan, slice it after it’s cold.

I know, I know, the look horrible, but they taste delicious!

Until next time.. Release YOUR Bon Vivant and Savor Your Life

 

Leave a Reply

