Egg Stuffed Portobellos

mushroom_5265

Portobello mushrooms, they are so versatile and delicious. I had several large ones in the refrigerator and I was hungry for a delicious Sunday morning breakfast. These are very simple to make. If your mushroom has a perfect cap you can invert it and use it as a baking dish. I placed a perfect cap in a small baking dish, making sure it was sitting level. I cracked two eggs into the mushroom cap. Then I sprinkled it with chopped jalapeño, chopped onion, freshly cracked pepper, and smoked paprika. I baked it in the oven at 375 degrees for 35 minutes. I prefer hard yolks so after fifteen minutes I turned the pan and pierced the yolks. The were done perfectly at 35 minutes. Adjust the time based on your egg preferences.
mushroom eggs_5261The other portobello mushroom cap was not perfect enough to hold eggs. So for the second I sprayed an individual sized baking dish with non-stick spray and placed mushroom slices along the bottom. Then I layerd chopped jalapeño and chopped onion. I cracked two eggs on top of the vegetables and sprinkled them with freshly cracked pepper and smoked paprika. I also pierced these yolks at about 15 minutes, but that is entirely optional. This one was served a little goat cheese a freshly snipped chives.

Other ingredient options: chorizo (fully cooked) slices, tomatoes, or chopped spinach.

Until next time… Release YOUR Bon Vivant and Savor Your Life!

 

2 thoughts on “Egg Stuffed Portobellos

Leave a Reply

