Heavenly Jalapeño Rolls

jalapeno-rolls_4967

OK, I know you are always supposed to ‘follow a recipe’ when baking bread but I rarely do. I have a basic ratio stuck in my head and I build on it. The ratio I use is 1 cup of water to 3 teaspoons of dry yeast, as much flour as it takes, a pinch of salt, rise until double, shape rise again. Adjustments are made to the cooking time depending on the size of the bread shape, usually I bake these breads at 350 degrees.

I was in the mood for a slightly spicy roll to go with a pork roast, so for the flavoring I cut one whole jalapeño into chunks and put it in the food processor. I pulse pulverized it until is was chopped but not not pureed. To that I added chunks of pepper jack cheese and again pulse pulverized until they were small bits. I went with a half size batch of bread.

Before I started I greased a large mixing bowl with extra virgin olive oil.

In another large bowl I combined the following:
1/2 cup water
1-1/2 tsp dry yeast
a pinch of sugar
1/2 cup flour

I stirred this mix with a fork until it was smooth. Then I added the jalapeño cheese combination, a pinch of salt and enough flour to begin making a dough. When the dough started to take shape I turned it out onto a floured counter and began to knead in more flour. I kneaded until I had a smooth ball. This is something you just have to get a feel for.

I placed the dough in the greased bowl and turned it so it was greased on all sides, then I covered it and let it sit until it was doubled in bulk. Here in Tucson it’s hot, summertime, so it rises pretty fast. Once it was doubled I picked it up and started tearing off evenly sized pieces. I went with 9 of them, they were just larger than golf balls. I shaped each into a ball and arranged them on a baking sheet. I used a sharp knife to slit the tops, covered them again, and let them rise until they were almost double again. Then I baked them at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes. They weren’t brown enough on top so I used the broiler to lightly brown the tops.

They turned out light and fluffy with a heavenly jalapeño flavor.

I’m thinking onion and blue cheese bread this weekend!

Until next time… Release YOUR Bon Vivant and Savor Your Life!

2 thoughts on “Heavenly Jalapeño Rolls

Leave a Reply

