Divinely Develish

 

Did you know that Deviled or Stuffed Eggs date back to Roman times? And… many cultures have their own variation of them.

devil-egg_3685

Boil your eggs using your preferred method. Some folks start of with the eggs in the water and some folks add them after it starts to simmer. And some folks turn the heat off as soon as the water boils, and just let the eggs sit in the water. So use whatever method you normally use, they all work. Let the eggs cool, peel them, slice them in half and remove the yolks. Now for the fun part… FLAVOR!
devil-egg_3691
What flavor do you want with your eggs today? For my Deviled Eggs today I went with a Lemon Garlic Mustard. Using a fork I worked the egg yolks until they were broken up, I added a some Lemon Garlic Mustard, dill relish, extra virgin olive oil, and fresh cracked white pepper. I kept working the mixture until it began to get smooth, it takes a little work. I wasn’t making a huge batch so I opted for working by hand with a fork, for a large batch of eggs a mixer works well.

I alternated adding Kumquat Jalapeño Vinegar and olive oil, until I had the smooth consistency I was looking for. Then I used an icing bag with a large tip to fill the egg halves. A quick sprinkle of smoked paprika and voila… Deviled Eggs!! Let yourself be creative with the eggs. Use flavors you like, mayonnaise is more traditional than the olive oil and vinegar combination I used, and it works just fine to make the filling creamy. Minced onion or chive is also a nice addition.

The recipes for Lemon Garlic Mustard and Kumquat Jalapeño Vinegar are in The Tasteful Muse, Volume Two.

Until next time… Release YOUR Bon Vivant and Savor Your Life!

Leave a Reply

