Seared Tuna Salad with Blackberries and Dill

 

 

 

 

seared tuna_2384I had a tuna steak but I needed to come up with something that was fast, not my usual steaming method. I sliced the tuna and heated a non-stick pan. When the pan was hot I added chopped dill and freshly cracked white peppercorns. I laid the tuna strips on top of the dill and pepper, the flavors instantly seared into the tuna. I added dill and pepper to the top and covered it for a few minutes, then flipped them. They cooked very quickly!

seared tuna crop_2384

To assemble the salad I chopped spinach and celery, laid the tuna strips on top and added a few blackberries. Then I added freshly squeezed lemon. Delicious, light, filling and even though it was simple with only a few ingredients, the flavor was complex. Other herbs that would work well with tuna are rosemary tarragon. You can also substitute just about anything for the blackberries, quartered strawberries, chopped sweet onion, red bell peppers, kalamata olives… If you have a flavor combination to suggest please send it to share@tastfulmuse.com

Until next time… Release YOUR Bon Vivant and Savory Your Life!!

Leave a Reply

