Te[quila] for Two

Here in Tucson it’s getting warm. As we enjoy more patio time I crave less red wine and more spirits. This weekend we will have an official taste test; Don Julio vs. Patron.

Several years ago, while in Mazatlan I went on a tequila factory tour, not just for the free samples I assure you. Although, I certainly did enjoy them!

IMG_1892

Here we have an agave ready to be smoked. This tequileria uses a large open pit, ahhhh so that’s where the smokey flavor comes from in some tequilas.

IMG_1889

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The picture below is after they’ve been on the fire…

IMG_1885

 

 

And that is just the beginning of the process – there’s still distilling, aging and bottling to do. So much work goes into a batch of fine tequila, and if you ask me it’s well worth it!

So which is better – Don Julio or Patron? I will research it fully and keep you posted!

2015 Update – I’m still testing! Actually I find both of the silver varieties equally smooth. I suppose it’s then time to move on to the gold, or anejo. Bummer, there’s more tequila tasting to do!

Leave a Reply

