Salmon Miso Chowder

miso-soup

To make this delicious, healthy soup – scour through your vegetable bin and see what you can find. Following is what I did, but the ingredients can be varied based on what you have on hand and what your palate prefers.

I started by a sauteing garlic, onion, ginger, and chopped carrots. When they were translucent I added a chopped zucchini, two sliced serrano chiles, about a cup of frozen edamame (shelled of course), and about a cup of white wine. As that simmered I added chopped dino kale and two sockeye salmon fillets that I began crumbling they cooked. Then I added a few cups of water, covered the pot and let it simmer for about 10 minutes, stirring every few minutes. When the salmon was done I reduced the heat and added a heaping spoonful of white miso paste. I kept the heat very low so as not to boil the miso. I let the soup heat on low for 5-10 minutes, then I served it.

It scored the rank of ‘best soup ever’ here at my house. I was amazed at how easy it was to use miso for the base, this was my first miso soup. I don’t think I’ve ever made soup from scratch so quickly! I well definitely be keeping miso around, a simple soup of carrots and miso would be delicious too.

Leave a Reply

