A Tomato Soup of Sorts

tomato-soup

When does a soup become a stew? I suppose it doesn’t matter as they are both the ultimate comfort food when the weather takes a cold turn. Soups are old food to me, something that has been around for many centuries, they can be made from whatever you have on hand and rarely need to have the ingredients measured. If you are new to cooking or need to build confidence they are a great way to embrace your creativity.

For my Hearty Tomato Soup here’s what I did:
I began with sauteing a chopped onion and 5 or 6 garlic cloves in a little olive oil. I added a soup bone. When the onions were almost translucent I deglazed the pan with a few cups of white wine. After that had simmered and reduces for just a few minutes I added some water, a (low-sodium) vegetable bouillon cube, quartered mushrooms, chopped red kale, a few sliced hot peppers (optional of course), and, chopped tomatoes – both fresh and from an aseptic pack (again just use what you have on hand). That’s it, then I let it simmer, partially covered, for about 2 hours, stirring occasionally.

Normally I freeze some of my soup as I can’t eat it all fast enough, but this one did not last that long. I served it with toast and crackers. Next time I think I might blend it to make it smooth and then try it with a grilled cheese. Stay tuned…

 

Leave a Reply

